Skip to content
Dumfries and Galloway Counts — Dumfries and Galloway, in numbers.Local help →

Dumfries and Galloway, in numbers

People and living standards

Dumfries and Galloway council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Dumfries and Galloway council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population fell from 147,170 in 1991 to 145,490 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Dumfries and Galloway council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 148,520 people in 1996; 145,490 people in 2025. 2% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Dumfries and Galloway council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991147,170
1992147,650
1993147,940
1994148,130
1995148,520
1996148,520
1997148,520
1998148,740
1999148,230
2000147,540
2001147,780
2002147,670
2003147,860
2004148,700
2005149,620
2006149,770
2007150,370
2008151,010
2009151,160
2010151,100
2011151,410
2012150,660
2013149,960
2014149,490
2015148,820
2016148,390
2017147,810
2018146,990
2019146,810
2020146,090
2021146,250
2022145,770
2023146,040
2024145,930
2025145,490
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Dumfries and Galloway council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 29,051 people in 1996; 21,247 people in 2025. 26.9% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Dumfries and Galloway council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199128,779
199228,796
199329,103
199429,200
199529,200
199629,051
199728,934
199828,922
199928,667
200028,232
200127,750
200227,246
200326,774
200426,398
200526,341
200626,106
200725,974
200825,839
200925,664
201025,304
201125,077
201224,419
201323,923
201423,495
201523,126
201623,003
201722,836
201822,765
201922,684
202022,630
202122,479
202222,096
202321,877
202421,621
202521,247
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Dumfries and Galloway council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 92,446 people in 1996; 82,530 people in 2025. 10.7% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Dumfries and Galloway council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199192,820
199292,930
199392,711
199492,506
199592,583
199692,446
199792,353
199892,318
199991,798
200091,288
200191,585
200291,459
200391,732
200492,516
200593,035
200693,154
200793,381
200893,500
200993,213
201093,085
201193,029
201291,895
201390,992
201490,196
201589,338
201688,476
201787,591
201886,418
201985,665
202084,527
202184,337
202283,896
202383,837
202483,372
202582,530
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Dumfries and Galloway council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 27,023 people in 1996; 41,713 people in 2025. 54.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Dumfries and Galloway council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199125,571
199225,924
199326,126
199426,424
199526,737
199627,023
199727,233
199827,500
199927,765
200028,020
200128,445
200228,965
200329,354
200429,786
200530,244
200630,510
200731,015
200831,671
200932,283
201032,711
201133,304
201234,346
201335,045
201435,799
201536,356
201636,911
201737,383
201837,807
201938,461
202038,933
202139,434
202239,778
202340,326
202440,937
202541,713
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 145,858 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · Dumfries and Galloway · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total143,10798.1%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 151,324 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · Dumfries and Galloway · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White149,45198.8%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller1020.1%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group4130.3%
Asian / Asian British: Indian3010.2%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani1670.1%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi550%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese2790.2%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian2300.2%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British1990.1%
Other Ethnic Group1270.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 8.2% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Dumfries and Galloway council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,147 per person in 1997; £23,835 per person in 2024. 160.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Dumfries and Galloway council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,147
19989,353
19999,528
20009,923
200110,236
200210,657
200311,101
200411,642
200511,763
200612,458
200713,235
200813,979
200914,460
201014,750
201114,844
201215,307
201315,743
201416,253
201516,881
201617,250
201717,506
201817,805
201918,588
202018,839
202119,649
202220,537
202322,108
202423,835
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Dumfries and Galloway council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -13.8% in 1997; -8.2% in 2024. 5.6 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Dumfries and Galloway council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-13.8
1998-13.6
1999-15.8
2000-16.6
2001-17.3
2002-15.8
2003-14.8
2004-14.2
2005-16.3
2006-14.9
2007-13.8
2008-11.2
2009-9.7
2010-8.7
2011-8.9
2012-9.4
2013-10.1
2014-10.1
2015-11.3
2016-10.4
2017-11.1
2018-12.8
2019-11.8
2020-10.2
2021-10
2022-10.6
2023-9.6
2024-8.2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · Dumfries and Galloway council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · Dumfries and Galloway council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£170,000

July 2026 · Dumfries and Galloway council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.